dentist about to work on teeth

Renewing your dental license may be more challenging than you previously thought. Keeping your dental license active is essential if you hope to continue practicing dental medicine. There may be several roadblocks and issues with your dental license renewal along the way.

Here is a general idea of what you can expect as you move through the dental license renewal process and how long it might be before your dental license is officially renewed by the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE). When you need legal help protecting your dental license, reach out to our professional license defense attorneys at Bertolino LLP to discuss the specific details of your case.

Rules for Renewing Your Dental License in Texas

If you are hoping to renew your dental license in Texas, you must be sure to get your application filed before two years have passed. According to new Texas State Board Dental Examiner regulations, dental license renewals in Texas are staggered on a biennial basis. This helps to ensure that dental renewals are being distributed evenly over the years as we move to a two-year license.

Dental licenses should prepare to pay a two-year license renewal fee unless they have been selected for a one-year renewal. You can expect to receive a reminder of your dental license renewal approximately 60 days before your dental license is set to expire.

Dental License Renewal Timeline

The fastest way to renew your dental license is by visiting the TSBDE website. You will need to create an account and log in before you can renew.

There is a section under the Quickstart menu called “It’s Time to Renew,” where you will be able to enter your dental license number and move through the online renewal application process. This should take only a matter of minutes as long as you have met all of the other renewal requirements.

Once your application has been submitted, you can expect a copy of your application to be emailed to you. It will take approximately 24 hours for your license renewal to be reflected on the TSBDE website.

Information to Include in Your Dental License Renewal Application

Your dental license renewal application will require specific information. If you hope to get through the application process smoothly, you should be prepared to include the following information:

  • Your Texas dental license number
  • Your practice area types
  • The names and addresses of your dental practices
  • The number of dental practices you own
  • The number of dentists you employ
  • The practice areas your dentists focus on
  • The name is an address of dental support organizations you own or are involved in
  • The dental practices your dental support organization provides
  • Whether you participate in Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)

Assign Your Dental Record Designation

It is also important to designate a custodian of your dental records when you are renewing your dental license. Since you own your dental records, it is important to appoint someone to handle and retain possession of your records in the event of an emergency.

The TSBDE requires you to complete a Designation of Records form and email this form to their office at [email protected]

About Anesthesia Jurisprudence

Are you a dentist who holds a nitrous oxide Level One, Two, Three, or Four sedation permit? If so, every five years, you will be required by the TSBDE to take and pass an online anesthesia jurisprudence exam that goes over anesthesia and sedation in the dental Industry. Be prepared to provide proof of your passing score to the TSBDE before your dental license renewal application can be approved.

Common Dental License Renewal Mistakes to Avoid

Dental license renewal mistakes are far more common than you might think. Within 24 hours, you should know whether your dental license renewal application has been approved or rejected.

Some of the more common reasons why your dental license renewable may not be updated on the TSBDE website include:

  • Failure to obtain your PALS or ACLS if you hold a Level Two, Level Three, or Level Four sedation permit
  • Failure to obtain your PALS or ACLS if you are a Level Two, Level Three, or Level Four sedation permit holder who sedates children 13 years of age or younger
  • Failure to complete and submit the Dental Support Organization (DSO) Questionnaire as required by §254.019 of the Dental Practice Act
  • Failure to obtain a current CPR certification
  • Failure to provide the TSBDE with recurrent CPR certification
  • Being ineligible for dental license renewal due to outstanding child support payments as ordered by the Office of the Attorney General
  • Failure to participate in an anesthesia jurisprudence assessment
  • Failure to provide proof of the number of your continuing education hours through the TSBDE
  • Answering yes to working for a corporation but failing to provide the TSBDE of the corporation’s contact information or location

These are just a few of the more common mistakes made when dentists attempt to renew their dental licenses every two years. The timeline for renewing your dental license should go smoothly as long as you meet the eligibility requirements and include all of the necessary documentation and forms. If you have run into issues along the way or the TSBDE has argued that your dental license should be revoked, suspended, or your renewal rejected, our dental license defense attorneys at Bertolino LLP could help protect your license and career opportunities.

Click to contact our professional license defense lawyers today

Contact a Dental License Defense Attorney to Protect Your Future

When you are having trouble getting your dental license renewed, or if the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners has rejected your application for dental license renewal, you may need a powerful legal advocate on your side.

Reach out to an experienced dental license defense attorney at Bertolino LLP to find out what options are available to you. You can reach us by phone or through our secured contact form to schedule your confidential case review today.

Call or text (512) 476-5757 or complete a Case Evaluation form