The first Midwives Educational Summit was held on January 7, 2019. The Summit was sponsored by the Association of Texas Midwives (ATM) and hosted by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).
Midwifery in Texas
The practice of midwifery in Texas is regulated by the TDLR. The TDLR’s Midwives program regulates licensed midwives and approved midwifery education courses.
The Texas Midwifery Act defines midwifery as the practice of providing the necessary supervision, care, and advice to a woman during normal pregnancy, labor, and the postpartum period; conducting a normal delivery of a child; and providing normal newborn care. 3 Tex. Occ. Code § 203.002(7).
Midwives Educational Summit
Summit presentations on Midwifery-related topics included:
- Charting-best practices, including Electronic Medical Records
- Intermittent Auscultation
- Postpartum Depression – screening and referral
- TDLR Division Introduction and Updates
- TDLR Enforcement
- Enforcement Process
- Cases and Statistics
- TxEVER: Vital Statistics Reporting System
- Relationship building: Bridging the gap between midwives and the medical community
- Risk assessments and Autoimmune Disorders and management
You can watch the presentations on any of the above topics online. Video of the Midwives Educational Summit is available on the TDLR’s YouTube channel and directly here. You can also review the Summit agenda here.
Those who attended the Summit in person earned five continuing education credits (CE) for their participation. The next Summit is slated for July 2019.
The TDLR Enforcement Division is responsible for investigating and resolving complaints filed against the industries, occupations, and professions that are regulated by TDLR. When a complaint is filed against a Texas midwife, it is handled by TDLR Enforcement.
Penalties and sanctions that may be imposed against a Texas Midwife are codified in Texas statues. Violations of Midwifery rules and regulations are grouped from Class A, less serious violations, to Class E, the most serious violations. 16 Tex. Admin. Code § 115.
Penalties range from $100 to $1,000 for a Class A violation up to $5,000 for a Class E violation. The most serious violations, such as breaching the standard of care or engaging in prohibited practices, can carry harsh sanctions, including midwifery license suspension or revocation.
Complaints Filed with the TDLR
If a complaint is filed against your Midwifery license, or other professional license issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, you have the right to defend yourself and the right to an attorney. Hiring an attorney to help you mount a strong defense serves to protect your license, reputation, fiscal interests, and your career; it does not make you look guilty.
Our law firm helps professionals, like you, keep their licenses when those licenses are under attack by a state agency or board.
If you have been notified of a complaint filed against you with a licensing board, agency, or commission in Texas, BERTOLINO LLP can help. We are experienced license defense attorneys and we know how to navigate the complaint process against any professional, medical, or vocational license. We are prepared to represent you at any legal hearing or proceeding regarding your license. Our results speak for themselves.
Contact us today or call (512) 476-5757 and schedule a case evaluation.
Follow BERTOLINO LLP on Facebook!
View free videos & subscribe to our YouTube channel!
Get a copy of Tony Bertolino’s Bestselling book When Your License is Under Attack: A Survival Guide for Texas Professionals in hardcover or for Kindle here.