The Orthotists and Prosthetists program regulates orthotists and prosthetists, orthotic and prosthetic assistants, students, and technicians, and orthotic and prosthetic facilities. It is housed under the Texas Department of License and Registration (TDLR). Unless exempt by law, a license is required to provide orthotic and prosthetic services in Texas.
When a complaint is lodged against an Orthotist, it is handled by the TDLR’s Complaint Investigation and Resolution Process. The TDLR is empowered to take disciplinary action against any of its licensees, including those licensed under the Orthotists and Prosthetists program. If after an investigation into alleged conduct a licensee is found to have violated a program Rule, then penalties and sanctions may be imposed.
Possible sanctions against orthotists and prosthetists are broken into classes A through D, with Class D violations being the most severe.
Class A violations carry a fine ranging from $50 – $1,000. The following violations are considered Class A violations:

  • Failure to Notify Department Violations
  • Posting and Public Information Violation
  • Advertising Without a License or Accreditation Violations
  • Facility, Equipment, and Sanitation Violations

Class B violations carry a fine ranging from $500 – $3,000 and/or up to 6-months probated license suspension. The following violations are considered Class B violations:

  • Health and Safety Violations
  • Administrative Violations Related to Assistants
  • Administrative Violations
  • Unlicensed Activity

Class C violations carry a fine ranging from $1,000 – $5,000 and/or 1-year probated suspension up to license revocation. The following violations are considered Class C violations:

  • Administrative Violations
  • Records Violations
  • Standard of Care Violations – Related to Supervision
  • Standard of Care Violations – Related to Treatment
  • Misrepresentation
  • Unlicensed Activity.
  • Unprofessional or Unethical Conduct

Class D violations carry a fine of $5,000 and/or license revocation. The following violations are considered Class D violations:

  • Obtaining a License by Fraud
  • Cheated on an Examination
  • Use or Act as a Proxy for an Examination
  • Failure to Comply with a Previous Order
  • Failure to Pay the Department for a dishonored payment

Handling Professional Licensing Issues in Texas
If you are experiencing a licensing issue in Texas, we can help. BERTOLINO LLP provides aggressive advocacy for professionals who are facing disciplinary action in front of a licensing board, agency, or commission in Texas. We have consistently won significant cases for doctors, nurses, lawyers, architects, pharmacists and other licensed professionals dealing with issues that could jeopardize their ability to work. We know how to build a strong case to protect your license – and your livelihood.
Our law firm helps professionals, like you, keep their licenses when those licenses are under attack by a state agency or board.
With offices in Austin, Houston, and San Antonio, we serve clients all over the state. As experienced attorneys, well-versed in state and federal laws, we know how to win. Our results speak for themselves!
Contact us today or call (512) 476-5757 and schedule a case evaluation.
Follow BERTOLINO LLP on Facebook!
View free videos & subscribe to our YouTube channel!
Get a copy of Tony R. Bertolino’s #1 Bestselling book When Your License is Under Attack: A Survival Guide for Texas Professionals in hardcover or for Kindle here.

Call or text (512) 476-5757 or complete a Case Evaluation form