woman getting a dental cleaning

When your dental license expires in Texas, there is no grace period for renewing. In fact, in addition to losing your active dental license, you will also be assessed a renewal fee penalty when you are between one and 90 days past your renewal date and a second penalty from days 91 to 365.

It is important that you take steps to renew your dental license before it expires, or your career could be in jeopardy. If you need help protecting your dental license, reach out to our professional license defense lawyers at Bertolino LLP for help.

Details About Renewing Your Dental License in Texas

The Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE) made changes to the dental license renewal process recently. These changes include a biennial dental license renewal. However, this is staggered to account for dental licenses across the state.

Dental licenses that are chosen for renewal after one year will only need to pay a one-year renewal fee, whereas biannual renewals will require a two-year renewal fee. Anyone obtaining or renewing their license after 2019 can expect to be required to renew their dental license every two years. The TSBDE will send out dental license renewal postcards 60 days before your dental license expiration date.

Remember, there is no grace period for dental license renewal. If your dental license does not renew before the expiration date, you will no longer have an active license, which could put your ability to continue practicing in jeopardy.

How to Renew Your Dental License Online

Most dentists will renew their dental licenses online. You can create and log into your account on the TSBDE website. Be sure to include your DDS license number so you can move through the online renewal application quickly.

After you have filled out your dental license renewal application in full and included any other necessary documentation or fees, you can expect to receive a copy of your application summary via email. If you are unsure of when your dental license expires, you can check the TSBDE website for verification. Once your license has been renewed, it should update on the website within one business day.

Why Your License Renewal Might Not Appear Updates

If you attempted to renew your dental license but checked the TSBDE website and discovered that your license renewal information has not been updated, there may be an issue with your dental license renewal. Some of the most common problems with dental license renewals in Texas include:

  • Being barred from license renewal due to a child support hold by the Office of the Attorney General
  • Failure to obtain a current CPR certification or failure to provide information of an existing CPR certification
  • Failure to complete the dental support organization questionnaire
  • Failure to provide proof of your required number of continuing education credits
  • Failure to obtain your PALS or ACLS permit
  • Answering yes to working for a dental corporation but failing to provide the corporation’s address or contact information

Other Dental License Renewal Considerations

When attempting to renew your dental license, there are several other factors that should also be taken into consideration. These include the designation of your records and anesthesia jurisprudence.

Anesthesia Jurisprudence

Dentists who hold a nitrous oxide Level One, Level Two, Level Three, or Level Four sedation permit are required to pass an online jurisprudence exam every five years. This test is administered by the TSBDE or an affiliated entity. If you are due for license renewal, you should be prepared to take and pass this exam for your dental license renewal application to be approved.

Record Designation

You will also need to determine who is going to remain the custodian of your dental records upon your dental licensure and renewal. Dentists retain possession of their dental records unless otherwise noted by the TSBDE.

You have the authority to designate ownership of these records as you see fit. Your designation of records form can be emailed to [email protected] upon completion.

Click to contact our professional license defense lawyers today

Expired Dental License Renewal FAQ

Now that you know there is no grace period for your dental license renewal, you may find yourself asking other questions regarding the renewal of your dental license.

We have answered some of the most commonly asked questions surrounding dental license renewal in Texas below. If you have additional questions we did not cover here, do not hesitate to contact Bertolino LLP to discuss your concerns further.

Do I Need to Pass a Fingerprint Background Check to Get My Dental License Renewed?

Fingerprint background checks are not required for dental license renewals in Texas. However, they are required when a dentist is receiving their initial dental license.

Do I Need to Get My CPR Certification Updated to Renew My Dental License?

If your CPR certification is not up-to-date, you must complete a new CPR course, including basic life support, before your request for dental license renewal can be approved.

Are Dentists Required to Complete Continuing Education Credits to Renew Their Dental License?

Anyone hoping to renew their dental license will be required to complete a specific number of continuing education credits. You must earn a specific number of hours of continuing education credits to meet the dental license renewal requirements in Texas.

What Happens if My Dental License Was Canceled?

If your dental license registration has been canceled, you do not have the authority to renew your dental license. Instead, you will be ordered to reapply for a new dental license before you can begin practicing once more.

Your attorney can help you understand why your dental license may have been canceled so you can meet the requirements necessary to get your dental license back in good standing.

Complete a Case Evaluation form now

Contact a Dental License Defense Attorney for Help Today

If your dental license has expired and you need assistance with renewal, or, if your dental license renewal application has been denied, and you do not know where to turn for help, reach out to an experienced dental license defense attorney at Bertolino LLP.

Schedule your initial consultation as soon as today when you call our office or complete our quick contact form.

Call or text (512) 476-5757 or complete a Case Evaluation form