If you are hoping to renew your dental license in Texas, you should always be prepared to do so every two years. However, you might be surprised at how involved the dental license renewal application process is.
It is not uncommon for dentists to have trouble getting their application for license renewal granted by the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE). If your dental license has expired or you are running into difficulties getting your application approved, get help from an experienced Texas dental license defense attorney at Bertolino LLP.
What Happens if Your Dental License Expires?
If you fail to renew your dental license before the expiration date passes, you are prohibited from continuing practicing medicine until your dental license is considered active after being approved by the TSBDE. Once your dental license has been renewed, you can continue offering dental services once more.
Changes to Dental License Renewal Laws in Texas
Fairly new dental license renewal laws in Texas allow dental license renewals to occur on a biennial basis. You will need to renew your license every two years to continue practicing. However, this is staggered, so some dental licenses will allow for one year to pass, requiring a one-year renewal fee, as opposed to two years with a two-year renewal fee.
You can find out how much longer you have to renew your dental license by contacting the TSBDE at [email protected]. The TSBDE is also responsible for sending out postcard reminders 60 days before dental licenses are set to expire. If you do not receive such notice, do not hesitate to contact the TSBDE to find out how much longer you have before your dental license needs to be renewed.
Requirements for Dental License Renewal
If you are hoping to renew your dental license before the expiration date, there are specific requirements you need to meet as follows:
Designation of Records
Since dental professionals providing services retain possession of their dental records, when you are applying for a dental license renewal, you must fill out the Designation of Records form, which assigns another party custody of your dental records.
Updated CPR Certification Status
You must have a current CPR certification under §257.004 of the Texas Occupations Code. This applies to not only licensed dentists but registered dental assistants and dental hygienists as well.
You should be prepared to complete a current CPR course that includes a written assessment and demonstration of your skill set. If you take an online course without a live instructor, you may be required to go through another approved CPR certification course before your dental license renewal can be granted.
The Jurisprudence Assessment
Jurisprudence assessments may be required for dental practitioners who are offering sedation at Level One, Level Two, Level Three, or Level Four. You should be prepared to take a jurisprudence assessment every five years for your dental license to be renewed.
Continuing Education Credits
Chapter §104.1 of the Texas Occupations Code requires dental practitioners to obtain continuing education credits and provide proof of 24 hours of training. You should be prepared to complete continuing education biennially.
However, the number of continuing education hours you will need varies depending on what dental services you are offering. For example, if you are hoping to obtain a renewal of an anesthesia permit and offer a level for sedation, you will need to complete 12 hours of continuing education credits. Failure to do so will be in your application for a dental license renewal will be rejected or denied.
Click to contact our professional license defense lawyers today
How Child Support Arrears Could Affect Your Dental License Renewal Eligibility
If you are hoping to renew your dental license but are currently behind on court-ordered child support payments, the Texas Attorney General, Office of Child Support will prohibit you from being allowed to renew your dental license until you have reached a payment arrangement or have gotten up-to-date on your child support payments.
Complete a Case Evaluation form now
Reasons Your Dental License Renewal Request Could Be Denied
There are many reasons the TSBDE gives for denying dental license renewal applications. The licensing board has a responsibility to protect the public, so they may be carefully screening dental license renewal applications prior to approval.
If the TSBDE finds that you may be a risk to the public, they may be less willing to approve your dental license renewal request. Some of the more common reasons for dental license renewal applications to be denied include:
- Being convicted of a criminal offense, particularly if the offense is a felony, a DUI, or any other type of conviction that could violate the public’s (or the licensing board’s) trust in you
- Having endured disciplinary action by the TSBDE in the past, even if your dental license was not initially suspended or revoked, and even if you suffer disciplinary action in another line of work
- Having your professional license revoked in another state or facing disciplinary action by another state’s licensing board
- Dealing with substance abuse or addiction issues for which you have yet to receive rehabilitative treatment or care
- Refusing to disclose prior criminal convictions, disciplinary actions, or other pertinent information to the Texas state board of dental examiners
- Engaging in any type of unprofessional conduct, including sexual misconduct or the inappropriate handling of prescription drugs and medications
- Lack of experience or incompetent dental office practices
- Failure to keep up with the required number of continuing education hours to ensure you are current on your knowledge of industry standards, practices, research, and technology
- Failure to renew your dental license before the expiration date
- Failure or refusal to cooperate with a law enforcement investigation or resisting arrest
- Making a mistake on your dental license renewal application
Get in Touch with a Dental License Defense Attorney Today
Even though you are required to get your license renewed every two years in Texas, it is common for dentists to experience difficulties getting their applications renewed. If you miss the license renewal deadline or are facing other common issues associated with dental license renewal, you may need a professional dental license defense attorney advocating for your career.
Contact Bertolino LLP for a confidential case evaluation. You can reach us by phone or through our online contact form to get started today.