Earning your Emergency Medical Services license or certificate in Texas is a major accomplishment. Our paramedics and EMTs dedicate their careers to helping people who are in need of urgent medical attention. You are the people who save us and our loved ones in emergency situations.
There are five levels of certification in Texas. The levels are Licensed Paramedic, EMT-Paramedic, Advanced EMT, EMT-Basic, and Emergency Care Attendant (ECA). You must meet the following requirements for licensure or certification:

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Have a high school diploma or GED certificate.
  • Successfully complete a Department of State Health Services (DSHS) approved EMS training course.
  • Submit a completed EMS Personnel Certification application and fee.
  • Pass the National Registry exam.
  • Submit fingerprints for Texas and FBI criminal background check.

Paramedic licensure applicants are subject to the foregoing requirements and must submit proof of either a two-year EMS degree or a four-year degree in any field.
Application & Exam Process for All Applicants
The process to apply for state licensure/certification is separate and distinct from the National Registry (NR) application. The Texas DSHS uses the National Registry Assessment Exam as the state-approved exam. All state applicants must pass the NR exam to be eligible for state certification. Therefore, applicants must also meet the requirements set by the NR.
The NR requirements, application, and fees can be viewed on the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians website here. Applicants are allowed to take the National Registry exam prior to submitting his or her state application. If an applicant fails the exam, there is not another avenue to certification; however, applicants are given the opportunity to retake the exam.
Out-of-State Applicants
An out-of-state certified Emergency Medical Services (EMS) person may apply for Texas certification by reciprocity.
Persons with Emergency Care Attendant (ECA), First Responder (FR), or Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) are not eligible for Texas Reciprocity.
Reciprocity eligibility for a four-year Texas EMS certificate is contingent upon verification of a current EMC certification from another state or U.S. territory and submission of an Out-of-State Verification Form from each state or U.S. territory in which a certification is held. Applicants seeking reciprocity at the Advanced EMT level must have training that includes alternative airway intubation devices and IV initiation as required for Advanced EMT certification in Texas.
Checking State Certification Status
Applicants can monitor the status of their certification on the certification search page here.
The Texas DSHS states that applicants can expect to receive their Texas certificate/license and ID card approximately four to six weeks after submitting a completed state application form, if all requirements are met.
Defending Your EMS Certification or License
If you have been notified by the EMS Compliance Group investigator of a complaint filed against you, we urge you to contact an EMT license defense attorney immediately. Our Firm believes that immediately consulting an experienced professional license defense attorney to review allegations of misconduct helps ensure the most favorable outcome in your case.
The attorneys of BERTOLINO LLP know how to build a persuasive case to protect your license and your livelihood. Our results speak for themselves.
Our law firm helps professionals, like you, keep their licenses when those licenses are under attack by a state agency or board.
BERTOLINO LLP represents licensed professionals across the entire State of Texas. To best serve our clients we have offices in Austin, Houston, and San Antonio. Our honest, experienced attorneys will fight aggressively on behalf of your license and reputation. Contact us today or call (512) 476-5757 and schedule a case evaluation.

Call or text (512) 476-5757 or complete a Case Evaluation form